Faculty Executive Committee

The Faculty Executive Committee (FEC) is a committee of the Academic Senate housed in the College of Letters and Science. The FEC's responsibilities are:

  • Coordinating the academic affairs of the College and overseeing the welfare of its students.
  • Opining on curricular issues and policy matters affecting the faculty and students of the College.
  • Authority over new courses, course revisions, and minor changes to degree programs (majors and minors).
  • Reviewing significant changes to degree programs and the creation of new academic programs.

Current Membership

FEC members are elected by their faculty peers for a term of three years. Two faculty represent each of the College's three divisions. 2016-17 academic year are:

Humanities and Fine Arts

Mathematical, Life and Physical Sciences

Social Sciences

The Executive Dean and the Dean of Undergraduate Education of the College of Letters and Science serve as ex-officio members. Undergraduate and graduate student representatives hold non-voting positions on the committee.

The FEC advisor is Barbara Gilkes, Assistant Dean of the College.

Meetings in 2017:

Winter 2017

  • January 12, 2-4 pm
  • February 2, 2-4 pm
  • February 9, 2-4 pm
  • February  23, 2-4 pm
  • March 9, 2-4 pm

Spring 2017

  • April 6, 2-4 pm
  • April 20, 2-4 pm
  • May 4, 2-4 pm
  • May 25, 2-4 pm
  • June 8, 2-4 pm

Additional Membership Information